w +49 (0)6202 409 1923

What are the types of SSL certificates?

There are three types of SSL cer­tifi­cates that are com­mon­ly used in the IT indus­try. These include Domain Val­i­dat­ed (DV), Orga­ni­za­tion Val­i­dat­ed (OV) and Extend­ed Val­i­da­tion (EV) cer­tifi­cates.

Domain Validated (DV) Certificates #

are the sim­plest type of SSL cer­tifi­cates. They only val­i­date the own­er­ship of the domain name and do not per­form any oth­er checks on the web­site or the com­pa­ny.

Organization Validated (OV) Certificates #

require addi­tion­al ver­i­fi­ca­tions to con­firm the iden­ti­ty of the orga­ni­za­tion that owns the web­site. This includes ver­i­fy­ing the name and loca­tion of the orga­ni­za­tion and whether it is legal­ly reg­is­tered.

Extended Validation (EV) Certificates #

offer the high­est lev­el of secu­ri­ty and con­fi­dence. They require the most rig­or­ous val­i­da­tion process, includ­ing ver­i­fy­ing the legal and phys­i­cal exis­tence of the orga­ni­za­tion, con­firm­ing its iden­ti­ty, and con­duct­ing a thor­ough back­ground check.

The type of SSL cer­tifi­cate you need depends on the lev­el of secu­ri­ty and val­i­da­tion required for the web­site or busi­ness in ques­tion.